color guard commander

Leadership Training

All cadets follow a specified program of training that enables them to attain higher rates and seniority within the unit and within the Naval Sea Cadet Corps. Along with each progression comes more responsibility with that authority. Cadets learn to make educated decisions, resolve conflict and create an atmosphere of teamwork and cooperation.

Some of the areas they will learn to attain each advancement include:

Policies and Programs
Military Conduct and Justice
Customs and Courtesies
Uniforms and Formations
Damage Control
Chemical, Biological and Radiological (CBR) Defense
First Aid and Health
Career and Education Information
Financial Management and Stress Management
Safety and Hazardous Materials
Sea Power
Leadership and Supervision
Security Requirements and International Agreements

Sea Cadet Rates
As in the Navy and Coast Guard, cadets have Rates, not ranks. Only Officers have rank. All cadets have a rating (type of job) of *Boatswains Mate (BM). “Rate” indicates their seniority and “rating” indicates their job designation. *see Cadet Specialization for coming changes.

Changes Coming Soon…

Senior Chief and Master Chief Petty Officer

With the help of some amazing naval leaders like retired Fleet Forces Command FLTCM Paul Kingsbury and retired 10th Fleet CMDCM Dee Allen, we are creating a world-class training program for our senior cadets, which will expand to include E-8 Senior Chief Petty Officer (SCPO) and E-9 Master Chief Petty Officer (MCPO) in 2021. We’re looking to provide additional opportunities to our most dedicated cadets, but very few cadets will advance to these rates. Expectations for these cadets are extremely high, and standards will not be reduced for any lower rate. Our SCPOs and MCPOs will be leaders for the Corps, expected to give back to our program, to serve as mentors, to advocate for their cadets to the chain of command, and to advocate for our program to our partners, sponsors, and the public. The Navy has endorsed SCPO and MCPO at all levels.

Cadet Specialization

In the coming years, NHQ’s Training and Education Team will be shifting focus to the creation of NSCC specializations. Cadets will be open to specialize after E-3 (Seaman), and eventually a specialization may become a requirement to be advanced to the senior cadet rates. Each specialization will require completion of one or more Polaris Specialization Courses (PSCs), our online learning system, and multiple advanced trainings in a single field. Initial plans for specializations include Maritime, Aviation, Medical, Public Safety, and STEM. Some form of uniform insignia will be developed to recognize certification in a specialty. Back to Top

Becoming a Sailor

NSCC Cadet Advancement Requirements and minimum time requirements. As cadets advance, their Performance Standards skill set increase as well.
PAC = Polaris Advancement Course. PSI = Performance Standards Inventory. PRT = Physical Readiness Test.
Seaman Recruit (SR/E-1)

The first step in becoming a U.S. Naval Sea Cadet. Addressed as “Recruit”, the cadet learns basics to become a Seaman Apprentice. Recruits must complete both coursework and demonstrate proficiency in a variety of areas such as marching, saluting, knot tying and properly addressing an officer. A full list of skill proficiencies are found in the Performance Standards Inventory. Back to Top

Seaman Apprentice Temporary (SA-T/E-2T)

NSCC Cadets recruited early in the school year may not have the opportunity to attend NSCC Recruit Training until after the minimum three months time in rate. In this case, unit commanding officers may effect a temporary advancement to E2 (E2T). This temporary advancement starts the six-month clock toward time-in-rate requirement for advancement to E3, and provides additional motivation to complete the E1 and E2 Polaris Advancement Courses. Back to Top

Seaman Apprentice (SA/E-2)

Cadets that have completed a required 9 to 14 day Recruit Training and have satisfied the coursework and physical requirements may be advanced to Seaman Apprentice. Back to Top

Seaman or Airman (SN/AN/E-3).

Cadets may be advanced to Seaman or Airman (E3) when certain requirements are met. This includes completing either the Seaman Course (SN), NAVEDTRA 14067 or the Airman Course (AN), NAVEDTRA 14014A and attending at least one Advanced Training (AT) which is offered during typical school break periods such as Winter Break and Summer. Cadets who complete the E3 Seaman PAC may request to be advanced to Airman if they hold an interest in aviation and intend to pursue aviation-related advanced trainings. The Commanding Officer of NSCC units with an aviation focus (squadrons) may choose to advance all of their cadets to the rate of Airman unless an individual cadet chooses to be advanced to Seaman instead based on an interest in non-aviation-related advanced trainings.

All cadets that have completed the above and obtained their Bronze Wings, will be advanced to Airman in the Jupiter/Langley Squadron. Back to Top

Petty Officer Third Class (PO3/E-4)

Cadets that have completed the required time in grade and service, PO3 coursework, passed the exam and have completed at least one Advanced Training are eligible for advancement to PO3.

Cadets at this level start to take on more roles of leadership within the unit. They may be a squad leader, color guard commander, Master at Arms (Navy Policeman), Yeoman or a variety of other positions with responsibility within the squadron. Back to Top

Petty Officer Second Class (PO2/E-5)

Cadets that have completed the required time in grade and service, PO2 coursework, passed the exam and have completed Petty Officer Leadership Academy (POLA) are eligible for advancement to PO2.

Cadets at this level hold multiple areas of responsibility. PO2 cadets are charged with the INDOC and initial training of all incoming recruits as well as supervision of Squad Leaders. They are also involved with the execution of the Plan of the Day (POD). They may be called upon to be the Lead Petty Officer (LPO) of the squadron in the absence of a PO1 or perform duties as the Officer of the Deck (OOD), lead physical training (PT) and assist the officers with personnel duties. Back to Top

Petty Officer First Class (PO1/E-6)

Cadets at this level hold senior leadership positions within the unit. This includes Lead Petty Officer (LPO), Training Petty Officer (TPO), Color Guard Commander, Rifle Guard Commander, Damage Control (DC), Coxswain and other high responsibility positions.

At this level, cadets are not automatically advanced. While advancement at any level is at the discretion of the Commanding Officer (CO), PO1 and above must be recommended by the CO and approved by the Regional Commander, NHQ Field Area Commander and the Executive Director of the Naval Sea Cadet Corps. Cadets at this level are “appointed” to their rate.

To be eligible for appointment, cadets must complete the required coursework, pass the exam and physical requirements and attend at least one Advanced Training. It is preferable that the cadet hold a Staff Leadership position at an Advanced or Recruit Training. Back to Top

Chief Petty Officer (CPO/E-7)

A milestone of any cadets time in the program is to become a Chief Petty Officer (CPO). The Executive Director retains sole authority to advance NSCC cadets to the rate of CPO. Recommendations for promotion to CPO will be made via the chain of command. Upon approval by the Executive Director or his/her designee, the NSCC Chief Petty Officer Appointment will forwarded to the Commanding Officer of the unit. Following in the tradition of the Navy, this is typically followed by a “pinning” ceremony in which the cadet receives his collar anchors with family and his shipmates. The Chief Petty Officer is now the senior cadet in command of the unit. Back to Top

Back to Homeport